Picture
Jesse Aarons or Jess as everybody calls him, comes from a poor farmer family with four annoying sisters, he finds no haven at school where he's teased by everyone. The only thing Jess has is running; after training all summer for the big race on the school athletic day, he and every other boy racing are beat by new girl Leslie Burke. Like Jess, Leslie is teased by her fellow students, but unlike Jess she doesn't let it bother her. After a rocky start, they find common ground and together create the imaginary world of Terabithia as a haven from their struggles at school and at home. Leslie teaches Jess to open his mind to every possibility and leave reality behind. But, after a tragedy occurs, Jess must trust in what Leslie has taught him to help over come the horrors that reality can bring.



I last saw the movie Bridge to Terabithia about a month ago since I had to read the book for another class.  I have seen this movie several times and there hasn’t been a time that I haven’t cried. I find Jess and Leslie’s friendship so innocent and pure that the way they compliment each other can’t be described in words. When you loose someone, no matter whim it is, it is very painful. But, loosing that special someone that you spend most of the day every day, is even harder. Together they had lots of fun and with each other by their side they where invincible. This movie is very powerful for me since I believe that children now a days don’t know what it is to go outside an use their imagination. Technology is so advanced that kids don’t have the opportunity to even think nor imagine new things since everything is already given to them. This movie is wonderful for me since it always brings back memories of when I was younger and spent hours a day all over the neighborhood playing new games and running freely with no stress on my mind. We would never sit behind a computer and communicate throughout internet like most children do now a days. Bridge to Terabithia is a symbol of friendship and innocence and I can’t think of anything better than that.





Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Hi! My name is Marisol and I am 20 years old. I am studying to become an English teacher for both Secondary and Elementary and I can't wait to start working. I am a very outgoing person, very friendly and trustworthy. You can always count on me!

    Archives

    February 2013
    January 2013

    Categories

    All