If you ask me where I live, I can answer with a simple sentence: I live in one of the most beautiful islands in the world. I can reassure this by talking about our warm temperature, our gorgeous beaches, our delicious foods and our exotic flora and fauna. I wish I could say how lucky I am of having Puerto Rican blood and being a part of this small piece of land located in the Caribbean, but this is not completely real. Although all these things are true, we don’t actually live in paradise. Sadly, we are surrounded by many negative things that make us live in constant awareness. There are people constantly assaulting the innocent for material things at all hours of the day. People are shooting one another for dumb reasons. There seems to be no moral values anymore, and taking away someone’s life is not considered a difficult task anymore. Puerto Rico is also the main place of importation and exportation of drugs between the Caribbean, North, Central, and South America. It is really depressing to agree to the fact of always going out with precaution. Every time I go out I make sure I have my car keys accessible to get inside my car quickly so I don’t get assaulted. I love to go out at night, but I am aware of the fact that I need to have eyes in the back of my head and move in quick ways just to avoid any type of problems. I have many friends whom have been assaulted for their phones or electronics even during daylight hours. I have one friend that got shot on his abdomen since the bullet got through his car just because he got confused with someone else. Luckily he is alive and nothing major happened. I haven’t had such a drastic experience and I hope I don’t either, but that doesn’t mean I don’t live with the fear of that or anything similar happening to me. It is an absolute shame that in such a small beautiful place, so many horrible things happen daily, so many families suffer for their losses, and so many tears are dropped because of others. Puerto Rico is also known as “La isla del encanto” and its name should be changed to “La isla del espanto.” (In other words: “The Island of Enchantment” to “The Island of Terror.” I would give anything to live peacefully in this wonderful yet fearful place since no one enjoys feeling constantly threatened by their surroundings.

National US Crime Rate Statistics
US Violent Crime Statistics According to the FBI's national crime statistics, 1.2 million violent crimes were committed in the United States in 2010 – about the same as were committed in the US in 2009. These violent crimes include such crimes as murder, rape, robbery, and aggravated assault. All saw declines nationally between 2009 and 2010. The largest decrease was in the number of reported robberies, dropping by 9.7% during this year.

US Property Crime Statistics US crime statistics also report that property crimes saw a drop between 2009 and 2010, dropping from 9.08 million to 8.9 million in 2010. Property crimes include larceny, burglary and motor vehicle thefts. The rate of larcenies decreased the most, dropping by 6.98% since 2009.




Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Hi! My name is Marisol and I am 20 years old. I am studying to become an English teacher for both Secondary and Elementary and I can't wait to start working. I am a very outgoing person, very friendly and trustworthy. You can always count on me!

    Archives

    February 2013
    January 2013

    Categories

    All