Picture

  1. I really never thought about anything negative aabout Disney. I mean come on! It's Disney! I grew up with all the Disney characters and I fell in love with all the characters and I learned from them how to speak English.  I never considered myself as a Disney fan, but I've seen each movie more than 10 times so I guess I am really a fan without even noticing.
  2. After watching that documentary I found out that not knowing I was a true fan was not the only thing I didn't notice. I was in total shock and I felt a little betrayed. I never gave much attention to anything that wasn't the happy ending. I learned that in this life you can't trust anybody, not even Disney.
  3. What most amazed me was how Disney is sexist. Every single woman or princess depended on the rescuing of a male figure to save her. The women would give up their most prized possessions to make their best approach to the male. For example, Little Mermaid gave up her voice to find "the man of her dreams." They would be ok after being locked up and threatened not to be given food if they did not do what the male desired. For example, Belle in Beauty and the Beast. Finally, how they used their bodies to seduce male figures for distraction, for example, Jasmine in Aladdin. I would have never thought about these things while watching the films. I don't even want to get started in how racist Disney is that they didn't create a black princess nor a male figure. I think that the darkest skin colored character is Tarzan and I would just marry that man!
  4. Although I was shocked and impressed about all these things, I can admit that I am still going to watch these movies because besides all of these hidden messages, the explicit messages are good ones that help children grow. Disney was a big part of my childhood and I would like for it to be part of my children's childhood too.




Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Hi! My name is Marisol and I am 20 years old. I am studying to become an English teacher for both Secondary and Elementary and I can't wait to start working. I am a very outgoing person, very friendly and trustworthy. You can always count on me!

    Archives

    February 2013
    January 2013

    Categories

    All